Monday monday

I’m so glad I’m not at work today. I made it to yoga. Was very shaky and feeling strange…blood sugar?…but I managed to get a good workout. If I can just force myself to go more often I should get some strength back pretty quickly.
My friend Cathy (who’s daughter Rachel had the bone marrow transplant) is having her thyroid removed today. Right now, even. She has a tumor, so they can only determine what exactly it is by removing the whole thing.
I’m sending her thoughts, prayers, wishes, all of those things.

I did get all of my clothes picked up and put into closets and drawers yesterday. Yay me! I had hubby and son carry a huge shelving unit upstairs and my plans for the next couple of days are to repot the houseplants that need it and move them up to their winter home on the shelves by the window.

I also want to make a meatloaf for supper and boil up some more butternut squash. Them things are dEElishious!!!

Here’s an email tidbit my mom sent me. I think it’s pretty funny.

“Airport Security Solution

Here’s the solution to all the controversy over full-body scanners at the
Airports:

Have a booth that you can step into that will not x-ray you, but will
Detonate any explosive device you may have on your body. It would be a
Win-win for everyone, and there would be none of this crap about racial
Profiling and this method would eliminate a long and expensive trial.

Justice would
Be quick and swift.

This is so simple that it’s brilliant. I can see it now. You’re in the
Airport terminal and you hear a muffled explosion.

Shortly thereafter an announcement comes over the PA system, “Attention
Standby passengers. We now have a seat available on flight number 4665 ….
Paging maintenance. Shop Vac needed in booth number 4.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Monday monday

  1. crankypants says:

    haha, the airport security thing is funny!

    I am going to yoga tonight! yay! I want to and I feel pretty good! I really need it too.

    Much mojo going out for Cathy!

    and here’s to getting shit done! w00t!

  2. Kzinti says:

    Hilarious! I can see that scenario now. Beats having to explain for several hours to federal agents why your friends were stupid enough to slip that tin foil dildo in your luggage as a joke.

  3. Haha! The airport thing cracked me up!
    I hope the surgery goes well for your friend

  4. DewiCasGwent says:

    Clearly the way around those scanners is the people checking them have to do it in the nude and you have a CCTV feed to where they are looking at it. Any sign of anything odd and you can switch the CCTV feed to the main information board for the rest of the day

    • Lauri says:

      Ha!
      When hubby and I flew to Las Vegas last month the airport had just set up those scanners. I was the first person to get to go through it.
      Yay. 😛

      • Redscylla says:

        Totally hawt. Did you shake your boobies at them while you were in the booth?

        Good thoughts to your friend. My sis had her thyroid out and you can barely even see the scar! Hope her surgery goes as smoothly.

        • Lauri says:

          Hahaha, I didn’t think of shaking anything at them! It was pretty entertaining to watch them all scurrying around to make sure everything was working properly.

          They were really nice.

  5. madtante says:

    I like the logic in that email!

    Much and many blessings to your friends.

  6. AmyH says:

    Love the scanner idea. It makes so much sense!

    I wanted to get stuff done this weekend. Didn’t seem like it happened.

    How do you prepare your butternut squash? I love it when other people make it but when I try it’s all blah.

    • Lauri says:

      I usually cut the squash in half, set the halves cut side down in a 9X13 pan with 1/2 inch water in the bottom and cook until it’s fork tender.
      BUT..last week I peeled a squash, cut it into one inch cubes and boiled them. When they were fork tender I drained them and mashed with butter and brown sugar, a pinch of salt. Omg…that was the best way!

      • Laurie says:

        Well, of course! How could sugar and butter not improve something?

        • lurkertype says:

          Too true, but brown sugar is the secret with squash.

          I like that airport idea! Too bad it’s not possible. Most of those email forwards are dumb, but that’s funny.

          Cathy has had a bad year, but I’m sure she’ll rise to this challenge as well. IIRC, RedZ sister went off to heavy metal in Canada right after hers, so it shouldn’t set Cathy back too far.

  7. capnstephel says:

    LOL! That scanner thing should be implemented!
    I shall keep my fingers crossed for your friend!

  8. Do surviving relatives get to keep their miles? Hope the friend is okay. Sometimes just having a plan is better than being totally in the dark and nobody willing to do anything.
    My house is a fuckin* wreck. I mean f*cking wreck. The ceiling is down but not up yet. Another ceiling is coming down now and the Geotechnical Services spent the afternoon with Kevin checking our structure. If there is a God they will condemn and pay us to move to the suburbs. Otherwise it will be a musty, dusty month full of filth and repsiratory problems. But a fresh coat of paint in the end. I bet I get to do it though.

    • Lauri says:

      Blaaaaarrrrgh!!!
      What a mess you have to live with for awhile! It’s better than the ceiling actually falling on you, though, I suppose.

      I did get a bit done today, but ran out of potting soil. I have to work the next two days and knowing me I won’t get much done again until Thursday. Ah well, I’ll take whatever gets done!

      I ordered “Smitten Kitten” from Lori Mitchell. I’ll post his picture in the post I am about to …um….post. 😛

  9. Aussie Emjay says:

    LOL re the airport security. Sounds like you had a busy day for a day off! My plan for the next couple of weeks is to sort my winter clothes out. Wish I had a yoga studio within walking distance – we did but she closed down before I signed up!

    I hope your friend Cathy is ok…..

  10. I hope your friend is okay.

    I like the airport security thing, if only it was really possible.

  11. LOL 😆 That is absolutely fantastic! Yes I vote for that kind of solution.

    There was a section in a book I read about 3 years ago ‘Merde happens’ about airport security. I was laughing so hard, that I had to pull my duvet over my head to not wake up my roommate.

Leave a Reply

