Guac Virgin

Yes, I’m 54 years old and I have never made guacamole. Any great tips from anyone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Guac Virgin

  1. doranyc says:

    Don’t be shy with the lime!!

  2. Jaypo says:

    My sis makes the bestest guac ever. Like Dora sez, don’t be shy with lime, fresh cilantro at the end, chopped jalapenos, small diced fresh tomatoes. Garlic.

    Check this out* or just search on foodnetwork. You’ll be so overwhelmed you won’t make it at all. πŸ˜›

    *http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/guacamole-recipe4/index.html

  3. I use lemon juice, mostly to keep the avocado from turning black while sitting on the table, heh. I also like throwing in dried red chili flakes to add some heat. I’m not a big fan of cilantro, maybe because I’ve had too much of it while eating Thai food.

    Chopped fresh tomatoes are great, but garlic is a must.

  4. crankypants says:

    I like my guac on the virgin side–like, un-messed-around with. I made some a few years ago that was a hit (with at least one person besides myself) and I just threw in some lemon and lime juice and some salt I think. Not much, if anything, else. I had looked up recipes and I didn’t have/didn’t want to go get tomatoes or cilantro (because I know not everyone likes it too) and didn’t have the time to chop stuff up and get all fussy with it. Let the avocadoes do the talking, I say. But it does turn brown pretty fast. Damn now I want chips and guac.

    • Lauri says:

      Now that I see what’s involved with making it (that is…not any trouble at all) I am embarrassed that I haven’t made it sooner!
      And it can be as simple as I want! Yay!

    • leendadll says:

      the lemon/lime juice prevents browning. so does putting some saran wrap over it – touching the guaca.

      “they” say that leaving an avocado pit in the guaca also slows browning…. doesn’t prevent it but slows it down a lot.

  5. capnstephel says:

    I’ll be the one to chime in and say that I will be of no help whatsoever because I don’t like avocados

  6. leendadll says:

    I like to use “Mrs Dash” instead of salt.
    I frequently add shredded cheese directly to the guaca… saves a step for everyone.
    A bit of tabasco, enchilada or mole sauce adds interest (I’ve sometimes used leftover DelTaco or TacoBell hot sauce packets).

    And if you want to make “gringo guacamole”, which everyone will rave about – so long as you don’t tell them the “secret” ingredient, add some mayo. Seriously.

    • Lauri says:

      Ooooo….I had no idea the adventures that would be out there in the making of guac!
      I added a bit of sour cream and cream cheese. This stuff tastes AWESOME!

      I’ll try it with mayo sometime, too!

      • leendadll says:

        Of all the weird things, I learned the mayo recipe from some Chinese people who ran a sandwich shop near me. It’s REALLY good with Nacho Cheese Doritos.

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    I see you’ve got lots of hints – I likeLemon, lime and coriander (cilantro)… and a splash (tiny splash) of Dave’s Insanity sauce….

  8. I was just going to make some snarky comment about you being 54 … but I decided against it. I’m just waiting until I get that old. Really … I can retire at 55.

  9. lurkertype says:

    Uber-ripe avocados and plenty of garlic and lime.

  10. AuntieBellum says:

    I’ve never made it, either, but yum! I personally would go light on the cilantro, but that’s just because I loathe the stuff. I also like it less chunky than some do (the avocados more thoroughly mashed and the tomatoes more finely chopped).

  11. buzzbase1 says:

    i have no suggestions; I just want to join you in eating the guac!

  12. Doesn’t anybody put in diced onions? I say yes! Lemon and Lime. Fresh Cilantro. Kosher salt. You can chase me around with a chip anytime. WOOB. Uhm, yeah.
    You may refer to me as WOOFG. Worn out old fucking goat. I need the password to see Su’s wedding present. I missed that meeting.
    Kevin made tortilla chips but with flour tortillas. I love them. Love, love, love them.

  13. LBeeeze says:

    Is it ok to say I’m not a big fan of quac?? Is it ok if I don’t make any suggestions on how to make it or make it better??

    How about a nice mango??

  14. Kzinti says:

    Lots of ways to make it, the avocado is kind of like the glue of the thing. It just binds everything else together. Throw in what you love and it’ll be delicious.

  15. geologywoman says:

    Do not put sour cream in it. If you use very ripe avocados you will not need cream. A food processor is helpful. A wee bit of lemon juice helps preserve it.
    Mine has very few ingredients: two very ripe avocados, one ripe tomato, juice of half a lime, a wee bit of lemon juice, and fresh cilantro chopped very finely. No garlic or onions. I want to enjoy the rich avocado as much as possible.

  16. pyrit says:

    Yer never too old fer guac ‘n roll!
    I am a guac hog! I can really binge on the stuff. No leftovers!
    But I’m a guac snob too. I like it to be on the pure and simple side. Mushed together with lime (or lemon), maybe a dash of cumin, sprinkle of cilantro.

    Oh and please give Suga’ huge best wishes from me!!!

  17. kimkiminy says:

    I have the easiest recipe EVER:
    Smash some avocado in a bowl with a potato masher. Add a little lemon or lime juice. Then add an approximately equal amount of your favorite fresh salsa. Mix thoroughly.
    You’re done.

  18. robpixaday says:

    LOL…I’ve never even TASTED it or SEEN it in person…no help here!
    Have fun, though!

  19. robpixaday says:

    And I’ve never eaten or seen an avocado in person.
    You are brave!

Leave a Reply

