Maple Syrup Chicken Recipe

This is it! Copied and pasted directly from cranky’s blob over at Vox *sob* oh so many eons ago! 🙂

I have made this so many times and I just LOVE it! It’s roasting in my oven as we speak!

Maple roast chicken with winter vegetables

(by request for IG)

This recipe came in an envelope from LL Bean, the bottom of it says “Holiday ’96’.

Courtesy of  David Mazzotta, Direct Marketing.

Ingredients:

2 T. butter, melted

1 roasting chicken, 6-7 pounds.

1/2 tsp. salt

Your choice of 4 (but only 4! haha, that’s me talking) harvest vegetables (carrots, onions, celery, parsnips, winter squash, sweet potatoes), peeled and cut into 3″ chunks .

1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp. dried rosemary

1/2 to 3/4 C. Bean’s Maple Syrup (I’m pretty sure any maple syrup will be just fine)

Place oven rack on lowest level, then preheat to 400 degrees F.  Spread vegetables evenly in a roasting pan.  Place chicken on top.  Brush melted butter over breast of chicken and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and rosemary.  Place in oven and baste about every 10 minutes with maple syrup.  When you run out of syrup, continue basting with pan juices.

Roast until chicken is tender and crispy, golden brown, about 1.5 to 2 hours.  The vegetables will be sweet and soft.  Let stand 10 minutes before carving.  Remove chicken to the center of a large serving platter and surround it with the cooked vegetables.  Serve at once (before the Bumpass hounds get it).  Serves 4 to 6.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Maple Syrup Chicken Recipe

  1. Kzinti says:

    Just what is needed for a nice cool day like today. Too bad I’m at work and don’t have access to my oven.

  2. littleoddme says:

    You must be psychic – I made this last night and was going to blog it today, but I couldn’t remember who to attribute the recipe to.

    Not that I’m getting around to posting it. I am teaching myself to make GIFs. 😀

  3. pyrit says:

    Yay. I remember making this after you posted it last time. Eet voz deelish. And I remember while making it, thinking it needed something more but oh well. Weeks later I found the sweet potatoes in the back of my refrigerator. durnit.

    • Lauri says:

      Lol!
      I found a furry zucchini in my frig today. I hate that!

      I made a butternut squash soup tonight, too. That will taste really good after it sits a day so the spices….cayenne, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg….can simmer through it! Yum!

      • pyrit says:

        ButterNUT squash soup. Yummm. In line at the grocery store Friday, the cashier asked the lady ahead of me if her squash was a butterCUP, she was pretty sure it was a buttercup, so she rang it up as a buttercup. I thought, isn’t that cute, but there is no squash called buttercup! So I had to speak up and put right this terrible wrong! Hee. Who comes up with these names?!

  4. Lauri says:

    That was good of you to speak up and right that wrong. I sometimes have to decide how much damage I am going to do to someone’s ego if I correct them. My dentist was telling me so proudly that Robin’s are the largest bird in the wren family. He was so happy and proud and full of knowledge that I couldn’t bear to tell him that he meant the thrush family. 😛
    Sometimes people have to have their little fantasies. 😉

    • pyrit says:

      So you haven’t heard of buttercup squash either?! Ah Ha!
      Lemme explain. No there issa too much.
      See, there really IS a buttercup squash, and the cashier got the last laugh. And I did say, “OK, who makes up these names?!” and she squinched up her face and said, “Squash scientists!!!” Oh the hilarity.

      • pyrit says:

        Wow, you really know birds from birds! I’m impressed!
        But, yeah. Smart to keep the dentist happy. Niiice dentist.

      • Lauri says:

        Now, see? I didn’t know that there really is a buttercup squash!
        I imagine there is an entire branch of squash knowledge that I am completely lacking in! And I am always very happy to be corrected and have my knowledge added to! Wheeee!

        Oh, ack, did you notice how I put that inappropriate apostrophe in Robin’s?
        Tsk tsk tsk.

  5. ladywise says:

    The recipe sounds wonderful. I’ll have to try it since I’m back to cooking after ten years off.

    And on correcting people…I used to be good/terrible to do it a lot. Some people are grateful about it, some people get really irritated because they are so sure they already know everything and they couldn’t possibly be wrong about anything, so….in my older age I’ve learned to pretty much keep my mouth shut. I just smile and agree with them anymore. lol

    • Lauri says:

      Yeah….I have definitely learned when it’s best to just “let it go”.

      I, personally, love to get corrected so that I don’t make a mistake again. But it’s rather easy to tell when someone would just prefer to remain in the dark. 🙂

Leave a Reply

