Anteater Video

Composting….(thanks to Redz!)

Excuse the bumpy part in the middle of the video! Hubby pointed out that an anteater was walking right towards us and I ran without stopping the camera. Amachur!!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Anteater Video

  1. Emmi says:

    One of my favorite animals of all time. BBC had a most excellent article on them recently. I should do a post on them. They're wild.
    Beautiful video, is that a giant anteater?? He's adorable.

  2. Lauri says:

    Yes, they are giant anteaters! I couldn't believe how fun it was to watch them!

  3. DKN says:

    Very cool! Thanks for posting Lauri, and I love that we can hear Mr. Lauri and all the excited kids in the back ground.

  4. RedScylla says:

    That is some major tail floomfage.

  5. Lauri says:

    Yeah! You will notice I was pretty quiet. That's cuz I have heard myself speak on video! TWANG!!

  6. Lurkertype says:

    They're so prehistoric-looking!I wish I had one in my backyard right now. I could use it.

  7. Jay says:

    I love those things. They are so cute. And they seem pretty nice too. As wild beasts go.

  8. Lauri says:

    They really did seem nice! Maybe it's because even their noses are smiling!

  9. brownamazon says:

    Lol @ the kids: "OMG, there are anteaters!!" So cute! Did they make a noise? I imagine them sounding a bit like an oboe…

  10. Lauri says:

    LOL! Oh that would be perfect!No, they didn't make a sound at all. If I were close enough I suppose I could have heard "slurp slurp slurp"!

  11. Drude says:

    In Panama, where they're supposed to still have these in the wild (I never saw one) they're called oso caballo (=horse-bear) I just love that name… You can imagine the Spaniard who named them – scratching the back of his head and going wtf IS this thing.

  12. Lauri says:

    Lol! Oh that is great. Oso caballo. That reminds me, Drude, while we were at the zoo I, also, learned that we call kangaroos that because one of the explorers was asking the natives what that animal was. The natives didn't understand the question and said so "Kangaroo?"So we have called them that ever since. And it means, "I don't understand."Great. 😛 You would think we could have changed the name once we realized this! 😛

  13. Jay says:

    I'm going to start saying that whenever someone asks me a stupid question.

  14. Lauri says:

    Me, too! (Well, I told myself that while I was AT the zoo, but then I forgot until Drude reminded me. :P…..Oldtimer's disease)

  15. hey, so neat- I'm just so surprised at how little I kew about how they actually LOOK! All I ever knew about was the nose (?) – never considered the rest. that was a great video!

  16. TreeSweater says:

    Hee! Anteaters and platypuses…proof that God really does have a sense of humor.

  17. Carlisa says:

    What the hey?! OMG! Looks like a big fuzzy hand! This isn't Andre turt werfloof is it???!!! ayyyyye!

  18. Annie says:

    Wow fuzzy and way bigger than I imagined. I always thought they were the size of maybe a small cat.

  19. Carlisa says:

    OMG!!! I didn't know anteaters were that big! Tony and I just watched the vid. Thanx Lauri! Way cool!

  20. Barbie says:

    Thanks for sharing … most interesting creatures! (Wish I had some here to help rid of all the ants that appear during this time of year … haha!)

  21. musicchick2 says:

    I'm with Carlisa… I didn't remember them to be that big either. Maybe they're only giant size in YOUR zoo….LOL!! They really are odd looking creatures, aren't they? *schlurpyity, schlurpity, schlurp* 😉

  22. Lauri says:

    I DO wish I had a pair of these guys in my yard. There are ants everywhere!

  23. Carlisa says:

    I wish I had one in my kitchen. 😦

  24. fatcat says:

    Floofy tails!! They are so cool, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

